Bayern and Inter’s incredible streak of World Cup finalists


While we don’t yet know which of the Morocco either France will be facing Argentina in 2022 world Cup Ultimately, it is already guaranteed that an extraordinary streak spanning four decades will continue when the showpiece begins in Qatar on Sunday.

At least one of the two reigning players 10 times Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich And serie a giants inter Milan Has been involved in every World Cup final since then ItalySpain’s 3-1 win over West Germany in the 1982 decider.

it doesn’t matter who attends Lionel Messi Both Bayern and Inter will once again feature a player in the 2022 final at the Lusail Stadium.

Here’s a look at the Bayern and Inter players who made this truly remarkable run happen.

– World Cup 2022: News and Features , Schedule , brackets

Spain 1982: Italy 3-1 West Germany

Bayern: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Paul Breitner, Wolfgang Dremmler (West Germany)

gap: Beppe Bergomi, Gabriele Orelli, Alessandro Altobelli (Italy)

Bayern and Inter were equally represented at the Bernabeu as both clubs offered a trio of players for the 1982 final. The game was a classic because after a goalless first half, Azuri Inter’s Altobelli scored his team’s third goal in an impressive 3–1 victory over their European rivals, scored in front of 90,000 fans.

Mexico 1986: Argentina 3-2 West Germany

Bayern: Lothar Matthäus, Dieter Höhnes, Norbert Eder (West Germany)

gap: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (West Germany)

Despite all four Bayern and Inter players coming together at once, they could not prevent West Germany from suffering a second consecutive World Cup final defeat, losing to Argentina in front of a 114,600-strong crowd at the Estadio Azteca in Mexico City. Despite all of Diego Maradona’s miraculous performances earlier in the competition, he was unable to score in the final. Instead, Argentina’s winning goal was blocked by midfielder Jorge Buruchaga.

Italy 1990: West Germany 1-0 Argentina

Bayern: Claus Augenthaler, Jürgen Köhler, Stefan Reuter, Lothar Matthäus (West Germany)

gap: Andrea Brehme, Jürgen Klinsmann, Lothar Matthäus (West Germany)

West Germany redeemed themselves in 1990 with seven players from Bayern and Inter in their squad as they defeated Argentina by one goal at the Stadio Olimpico in Rome. With a penalty in the 86th minute, Germany’s regular taker Matthaus postponed his duties (due to his new boots feeling uncomfortable), leaving Inter full-back Brehme to replace him from the spot to settle the game. .

USA 1994: Brazil 0-0 Italy, 3-2 Paine

Bayern: Jorginho (Brazil,

gap: Nicola Berti (Italy)

Only one player from either side of the cross-Alpine divide featured in the 1994 final, with Brazilian right-back Jorginho playing on the opposite side of Italy’s right midfielder Berti. Jorginho lasted just 21 minutes in the Rose Bowl in Pasadena before he had to be replaced by a youngster named Cafu due to injury. The goalless game was drawn to a penalty shootout in which Azuri Talisman Roberto Baggio – who would later in his career have two years at Inter – fired the decisive kick over the crossbar to hand the trophy Seleção,

France 1998: France 3-0 Brazil

Bayern: Bexente Lizaraju (France)

gap: Youri Djorkef (France), Ronaldo (Brazil)

Ronaldo was not included in Brazil’s starting team sheet after suffering a seizure on the afternoon of the game and spending several hours in hospital. Nevertheless, the Inter striker returned to the fold and eventually played the full 90 minutes, while looking a different color for the majority. In contrast, France was inspired by the heroics of Zinedine Zidane’s big game les blues A stunning 3–0 victory at the Stade de France followed.

Japan/South Korea 2002: Brazil 2-0 Germany

Bayern: Oliver Kahn, Carsten Janker, Thomas Linke, Jens Jeremy (Germany)

gap: Ronaldo (Brazil)

After the disappointment of 1998, Ronaldo returned to form in the first World Cup in Asia and finished the tournament as the Golden Boot winner with eight goals. The resurgent Inter striker scored both Brazil’s goals in the final in Yokohama to earn his country a record fifth World Cup title.

Germany 2006: Italy 1-1 France, 5-3 Paine

Bayern: Willy Sagnol (France)

gap: Marco Materazzi (Italy)

While the 2006 World Cup final will not be remembered for Sagnol’s participation, Materazzi’s performance at the Olympiastadion has already passed into footballing infamy. The Italian centre-back conceded a penalty in the sixth minute of the first match, which Zidane converted with a daring “panenka”. Materazzi then equalized for Italy in the 19th minute and clashed with Zidane again in extra time, hitting the fiery Inter defender in the chest. While Zidane was shown the red card that brought his stellar career to a chaotic end, Materazzi justified himself by scoring a penalty in the ensuing shootout as Italy emerged victorious in Berlin.

South Africa 2010: Spain 1-0 Netherlands

Bayern: Arjen Robben, Mark Van Bommel (Netherlands,

gap: Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands)

Spain and the Netherlands played out a fantastically bad-tempered battle in the 2010 final, as Van Bommel spearheaded the rough-and-tumble tactics used to disrupt. la rosa By being dominant By the end of the fight, the Netherlands had received nine yellow and one red cards, while Spain accumulated five bookings of their own. Bayern and Inter contributed three players to the Dutch cause but could not stop Andres Iniesta securing a shaky, fortuitous victory for Spain in the second period of extra time.

Brazil 2014: Germany 1-0 Argentina

Bayern: manuel neuerPhilip Lamm, Jerome BoatengBastian Schweinsteiger, toni kross, Thomas Muller, Mario Gotze (Germany)

gap: rodrigo palacio (Argentina)

With at least seven players participating, Bayern provided the bulk of Germany’s 2014 World Cup winning side. The Bavarian giants also supplied the winning goal scorer, with second-half substitute Götze straining every fiber of his being to volley home Andre Schurrle’s cross in the 113th minute to secure the trophy. die manshaft,

Russia 2018: France 4-2 Croatia

Bayern: corentin tolisso (France)

gap: Marcelo Brozovic, Ivan Perisic (Croatia)

The highest-scoring World Cup final since 1966 saw plenty of entertainment as France beat a formidable Croatia team at Moscow’s Luzhniki Stadium. Both Inter players eventually found themselves on the losing side as Tolisso and les blues Hoisted the trophy.

Qatar 2022

Bayern: Nussair Mazroui (Morocco), benjamin powered, Dayot Upmekano, kingsley common, lucas hernandez (France).

gap: Lautaro Martinez (Argentina)

Due to the 2022 semi-final bracket, we are once again guaranteed to have at least one Bayern and one Inter player in the Qatar final. Morocco only have one player in the mix, but even if their stellar run ends, France have plenty of Bayern players in their squad to ensure the streak continues into the 2026 tournament.

Source link