Why VAR disallowed Griezmann’s goal for offside for France


We’re analyzing every VAR decision made in all 64 games Feather 2022 world cup, antoine griezmann Controversially a goal was disallowed France Vs TunisiaAnd this is the reason.

After each game, we take a look at key incidents to examine and explain the process in terms of both VAR protocol and the Laws of the Game.

– Full review of World Cup VAR: analyzed every decision

VAR overturn: Griezmann goal disallowed for offside

What happened: Antoine Griezmann thought he had scored a dramatic equalizer for France in the 98th minute but there was a VAR review for offside.

VAR Decision: Target not allowed.

VAR Review: It drills down to the very heart of the offside law, and the definition of “intentional play” to reset a phase.

When aurelian tchoumeni Played the ball into the zone, Griezmann stood yards away. However, the France striker made no attempt to play the ball or challenge an opponent.

Protector montessor talbi Tried to head the ball but didn’t get much on the clearance and it fell to Griezmann, who scored.

If the officials believe that Talby made a “deliberate play”, the phase is reset, Griezmann is offside and the goal counts.

If the officials believe that Talby did not make an “intentional play”, the phase is not reset, Griezmann remains off Tchoumeni’s pass, and the goal is disallowed.

Essentially, an “intentional play” is about the defender being in control of his actions. It is not purely about a player trying to kick or head the ball. If the defender has to stretch to play the ball, and cannot have a true impression of where it goes, it is not considered “intentional play”.

This is a highly subjective area of ​​offside law, which is why referee Matthew Conger of New Zealand had to turn to pitchside monitors to make the decision.

VAR, Abdullah Al-Marri — who was also on duty for the controversial handball penalty awarded to Portugal against Uruguay on Monday – and his Qatari colleague acting as offside VAR, Taleb Al-Marri, would have advised that Taleb was not in control of the header and was pulling, so it could not be “deliberate play”.

The decision would be equally controversial, as the complexities of “intentional play” are not widely known or understood.

Whether you think this is a right decision will ultimately depend on what you think “deliberate play” should be. But it’s fair to say that most people will feel this is an exceptionally harsh VAR decision.

Source link